Let my gratitude spread… (poem)

When the teacher shouts to get the noise of the class under control,
My ears remain stuck to the showers of lord’s bliss,
The soft sound of the showers seep deep into my soul,
And my emotions start going out of control,
I fail to let my sentiments dismiss.
And some memories seep through my heart’s tiny hole.

The raindrops fall on the ground, but I feel it in my heart today,
The heart which once used to beat quicker than the speed of light,
The heart which once used to just pray,
The heart which was once moldable as clay,
Whenever it rained on a thundering night,
How my heart felt in those days is not easy to convey.


That feeling of a spirit or a monster approaching,
That feeling of a ghost approaching to kill me for no reason,
That spooky and weird sort of a feeling.
But in front of the monsters, there stood a power really healing,
The power was like a scarecrow which would protect the tender flowers in each and every season,
The power protects the interior of the house from all storms; it’s the strongest of ceilings.


Undoubtedly, it is my mother whom I think of,
Undoubtedly, it is her warmth of love which made me feel safe at night,
And now she is the reason why rain is my love,
And today I am only reminded of her when I look above,
Above at the clouds, all that comes into sight,
Towards her face always does my brain shove.

Today, as I sit and group the beauty of each word,
I can never let my father’s memories escape,
That story at night which was everyday heard,
That simplest story of a king defeating the evil with his sword
, But it was the story which gave my views shape,
I can write what I write today just because of all those stories heard.


And then the story reminds me of who taught me to write,
My teachers, my mentors; they have all been so helpful and kind.
Especially I think of my English class, the class of most delight,
That teacher who gave my imagination all words right,
That teacher who allowed my imagination and her words grind,
Grind into a spice of scripts, and help my pieces of writings board onto the flight.

The tickets are reserved, the boarding complete,
But from where would the flight take off if the platform goes AWOL?
The one to provide the platform was the lone light in the dark and dusky street,
The one who granted the platform, the one with which no one can compete,
My sister was the one who helped me stand tall,
She was the one who made my thoughts as solid as concrete.


While I sit and express my gratitude for all the support I got,
While I think of all these people, who did it all for me,
I often come across a deep thought,
That even if you talk to a scientist or an astronaut,
The number of stars in the universe, they can never guarantee,
While exploring such answers, we all are a clot.


The same goes with my life, probably just 4 years and a decade,
But I guess 168 months, 5110 days, 122640 hours is not too less,
I remember the support of my family, my teacher, but still I am afraid,
For almost every day, I meet a new human, a different sort of jade,
I can’t keep record of all those people ever, but I have to confess,
That an important role in my life has every person played.


I might not even remember many of those faces,
I might not know the names of even a few,
What I remember today are just traces,
But what these forgotten people have done for me is,
Not something you can extract out of an interview,
Because these emotions lie only inside hearts and no other places.


Some might have helped me a lot in front of me,
Some might have helped me without even letting me know,
But now I have forgotten many of those, you see,
My brain can’t thank more than just two or three,
I know that god is found everywhere, though,
He is found in every soul, every bush and every tree.


And so my lone prayer to god for the day is not to eat my favorite bread,
But to thank all those who have helped me in life some or the other day,
To thank those who applied the medicine of trust and help whenever my confidence bled,
God is found everywhere, it is always said,

An important role do all people I meet, play,
And thus my prayer to lord today is to let my gratitude spread
And thus my prayer to lord today is to let my gratitude spread…


6 thoughts on “Let my gratitude spread… (poem)

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started